Top Ten Books If You Like Buffy the Vampire Slayer

April 29, 2014 Memes 4

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week we list our top 10 book-related things. This week is Top Ten Books If You Like X and I choose Buffy the Vampire Slayer.

In honor of my current state of rewatching of the entire series (and my fiance’s first time watching it!), I have decided to do this Top Ten Tuesday post on the best YA-ish TV show ever… (despite the fact it lost in FYA March Madness Bracket).

I’m breaking it down by character.

If you liked Buffy

1.  The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
Collins, The Hunger Games
Buffy Summers and Katniss Everdeen are two peas in a pod… maybe not in plot lines, but definitely in spirit. They kick some serious ass, and while Katniss isn’t necessarily the Chosen One/Slayer. As the Mockingjay, she has all these responsibilities, and honestly, it is just as dangerous to be BFFs with a symbol of the revolution as it is to be part of the Scooby gang.

2.  City of Bones by Cassandra Clare
City of Bones
Okay, so maybe I haven’t read this series yet, but it seems like if you appreciate Buffy’s world then you should be able to appreciate Clary’s world. Filled with Shadowhunters which a basically like slayers, City of Bones seems like an action-packed adventure that any Buffy fan would enjoy…. which is why I should get it from the library now.

If you liked Willow 

3.  Jinx by Meg Cabot
Jinx
Willow starts out pretty nerdy in the series, and while yes I loved the nerdy Willow. She becomes 100% cooler once she starts messing around with magic. Similarly, Jinx is kind of naive until she starts to accept her witchcraft.



4.  Blue is for Nightmares by Laurie Faria Stolarz
Blue is for Nightmares
Stacey’s magic reminded me of the kinds of magic Willow and Tara use. It’s more of a herbally folksy kind of magic. Just like Stacey, who uses her witchcraft to hunt down a killer, Willow uses her magic to help Buffy with all the evils that come at them. 

5.  The Book of Spells by Kate Brian
Book of Spells
The girls in this book learn magic and form a coven. They form a type of sisterhood which is kind of like Willow and Tara’s relationship… at least at first.


If you liked Zander


6.  Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J. K. Rowling
Zander is definitely the Ron of the group. And I think this is the Harry Potter book that Ron shines the best in. Zander provides the comic relief and isn’t very smart, but he adds his own Zander-ness to the group dynamic just like Ron does with Harry and Hermione.

If you liked Cordelia

7.  Private by Kate Brian
Private
The mean girls in Buffy aren’t usually psychotic killers (although witches aren’t out of the question). However, Cordelia definitely has a lot of the qualities of the Billings Girls, especially Noelle.

8.  The Clique by Lisi Harrison
The Clique
Massie is just a younger Cordelia…. except Cordelia eventually becomes a part of the Scooby gang as opposed to Buffy or Willow or someone trying to become a part of Cordelia’s clique.


If you liked Oz

9.  Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater
Shiver
I never got into this series because of my aversion to all things werewolf and vampire after reading/watching Twilight, and the werewolf situation is slightly different than Oz’s situation as they are only wolves in the winter… but I imagine the love story to be similar to Willow and Oz’s.



10.  New Moon by Stephenie Meyer
New Moon
I tried to avoid using Twilight, but Jacob was one of the best characters in the series. He was the good guy, the loyal friend, and like Oz, he was the one who waited for the girl to get over her former crush. Only for Jacob, Bella never got over Edward. And for Oz, well I wish he and Willow would have lasted a bit longer.

To Summarize:
Buffy Collage

 

 

Jordin

4 Responses to “Top Ten Books If You Like Buffy the Vampire Slayer”

    • Jordin

      Yea, Willow is definitely one of my favorite characters on the show. I’m still in season 2 of my rewatch, but I can’t wait until she becomes more and more witchy!

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge